quarta-feira, 25 de março de 2020

Ike Turner - Blues Roots & Bad Dreams (2012)

                                                                 Ike Turner
Whatever the public's view of Ike Turner may be, and for all his personal problems and demons, the fact remains that he was a great musician, maverick and eccentric by turns, and a blistering electric guitar player with a sharp, precise, and hauntingly beautiful tone. During the peak commercial years for Ike & Tina Turner, he recorded a few solo side projects, including these two albums released by United Artists Records in 1972 and 1973, respectively. The first, Blues Roots, was sort of a swampy funky soul-blues mix, with Turner's voice, always somehow shaky, somehow sounding compellingly right on tracks like the great version of "You're Still My Baby" that opens the LP, or the hard to classify "Right On," a glorious mesh of spoken vocals, doo wop harmonies, girl group dynamics, and other odd but refreshing twists and turns. The second of these two albums, Bad Dreams, is pretty weird, full of spoken word monologues and other little oddities, but it also has some marvelous tracks, including a stunning version of Elmore James' "Dust My Broom," a joyous romp with swampy rhythms and girl group backup vocals that builds to a tremendous gospel-like crescendo. Then there's "Rats," an odd spoken word rant about rats that is both irritating and musically fascinating. Not that Turner was trying to be Frank Zappa or anything, but he definitely wasn't aiming for the commercial charts with either of these albums, and they remain maverick curios with some brilliant tracks that showcase Turner as a bandleader, arranger, and producer, and that sharp funk tone of his guitar is always in there somewhere.


(Album     Blues Roots)    

01. You're Still My Baby 03:02
02. Tacks In My Shoes 03:02
03. The Things I Used To Do (I Don't Do No More) 03:02
04. Goin' Home 03:06
05. Lawdy Miss Clawdy 01:41
06. Right On 04:53
07. Think 03:04
08. Rockin' Blues 02:53
09. That's Alright 03:04
10. My Babe 03:05
11. Broken Hearted 03:32
12. If You Love Me Like You Say 03:18

(Album     Bad Dreams)    

13. These Dreams 02:54
14. That's How Much I Love You 02:56
15. One Nite Stand 03:29
16. Dust My Broom 03:53
17. Don't Hold Your Breath 03:47
18. (You Can Have) The City 03:43
19. Flockin' With You 02:52
20. Take A Walk With Me 03:30
21. You Won't Let Me Go 03:44
22. Later For You Baby 02:41
23. Rats 04:01
24. I Love The Way You Love 02:45

4 comentários:

  1. Thanks buddy. I already have Blues Roots but didn't have Bad Dreams, so good to get those extra tracks.

  2. Thanks Ismael

    Ike Turner was some musician and you are right people will only remember him for his personal life which is a shame.


  3. You're welcome friend, yes, as a musician he was excellent and he was also a great influence for several guitarists !!