terça-feira, 12 de fevereiro de 2019

Taste - On The Boards (1970)

The second and final studio recording by Irish guitarist Rory Gallagher's neo-Cream trio reins in the playing to focus more on songwriting. The material is a virtual grab bag of blues-rock styles, moving from driving rockers ("What's Going On," "I'll Remember") and basic boogies ("Morning Sun," "If I Don't Sing I'll Cry") to a bottleneck blitz ("Eat My Words") and a pair of acoustic ballads. There's a pronounced jazzy tinge to his spiky guitar and never-again-heard alto sax on the slow blues of the title track and "It's Happened Before, It'll Happen Again," the latter giving the Richard McCracken-John Wilson rhythm section a chance to stretch out and swing fluidly. The lyrics, never a Gallagher strong suit, are pretty simplistic, but the chorus hooks do stick. It could all have added up to one big eclectic mess, but for the often one-dimensional, sometimes ham-fisted Gallagher, the laudable variety turns On the Boards into the high point of his recording career.


Rory Gallagher - Guitars, Vocals, Saxophone, Harmonica
Richard "Charlie" McCracken - Bass Guitar
John Wilson - Drums


1. What's Going On 2:48
2. Railway and Gun 3:38
3. It's Happened Before, It'll Happen Again 6:33
4. If the Day Was Any Longer 2:10
5. Morning Sun 2:39
6. Eat My Words 3:47
7. On the Boards 6:02
8. If I Don't Sing I'll Cry 2:40
9. See Here 3:05
10. I'll Remember 3:02

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário