terça-feira, 12 de fevereiro de 2019

Slim Butler - Big Freeze (2018)

                                                                     Slim Butler
As one of the contemporary blues world’s finest, Slim Butler has just released his eagerly awaited third album Big Freeze.
Self-produced by Slim, Big Freeze includes yet another impressive collection of ten original songs. Breaking new ground sonically with styles ranging from blues, r&b and funk to an americana vibe, it will surely raise some hell and interest among blues community all over.
Big Freeze was recorded on analog tape in just few days at the Suprovox Studios in Iikkala, Finland. Engineered by internationally acclaimed blues guitarist and harpist in his own right, Tomi Leino. Superb guest vocalists, Tad Robinson and Andrew Black from USA, added their soulful touch and talent to these tunes. Keyboard wizard, Harri Taittonen, laid out exciting and funky keyboards to the mix.
Backed by his touring band, The SlimCuts, Slim has gained a solid reputation as a true recording artist and powerful live performer. Butler is firmly standing at the forefront of a widespread revival of interest in the blues.
Slim Butler´s previous albums, Inner Blues (2012) and Bad Intention (2016), both were nominated as The Best Blues Album Of The Year in Finland, respectively. 

Slim Butler hails from the unfamiliar hot bed of Finland´s blues scene, Rovaniemi. Slim was born in summer of 1963 as Jarmo Puhakka in this small Arctic Circle town. Ever since picking up his first guitar (cheap mail-order Lucky Seven) at the tender age of 12, he´s been fronting local bands, always leaning towards blues, soul and rock. Never one to limit his musical focus, he is also an enthusiastic lover of funk, reggae and jazz – listeners can still hear echoes of some of his early influences such as Jimi Hendrix, Rory Gallagher, The Beatles, Howlin´ Wolf, Muddy Waters, Ry Cooder and The Allman Brothers. After honing his skills for decades, Slim has gradually evolved into a mighty fine guitarist, band leader, avid songwriter and recording artist with musical maturity and a vision to reckon with. Now at the forefront of the Finnish blues movement, he is not showing any signs of slowing down.


1.Fat Times 3:01
2.Everything You Need 3:14
3.Keep It Real 3:21
4.Running Away From The Blues 3:37
5.Where Is The Love 4:21
6.Sweaty Betty 4:18
7.Coconut Monster 3:18
8.Southern Belle 3:22
9.Hey Now Baby 3:51
10.Kissed By The Blues 3:16

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário